[Kvizee Doug and the crew are writing a blog in diary form that will in the future destroy the world. Doug has written the next entry — Naztko]

ENTRY 52

Utcoozhoo said, “Well, it’s been charming to meet you Chloë … Doug, I have to get going. Just get me some scuba catalogs, and some books on how to scuba dive. OK?”

“Yes,” I said, “I will … um, Uncle Utcoozhoo, did you know that Chloë is my favorite interior decorator?”

“Oh?” said Utcoozhoo. He gazed over at Chloë. “Have I seen your work, Chloë?”

Chloë hesitated a moment. “Uh, well, I did the Blue Attic Club with Zawmb’yee.”

“Hmm, I might have some work for you in the future. I’m going your way — can I give you a lift home?”

“Sure, and tell me all about the caves. From what Zawmb’yee has been telling me, it sounds intriguing.”

Utcoozhoo looked at his watch. He opened the door for Chloë. “Well, then, we’ll be going … Thanks Doug. Zawmb’yee, you look beautiful today … see ya in the cave. Bye.” They left.

Zawmb’yee and I plopped down on the couch. She said, “All of this has been exhausting and I guess Utcoozhoo can handle everything, but …”

“But? Don’t worry. It’ll all work out. I’ll find the equipment supplier and we’ll vote …”

“No, I don’t mean that. I think that Zusoiti really intends to trigger a new Ice Age.”

“Can she do that?”

“I think so. Utcoozhoo has told me a little about the pfayohiqusi. I’m not sure exactly how, but I think it’s powerful enough to trigger catastrophic climate change.”

“Are you sure about that, or is it one of those exaggerated myths?”

“No. I think it’s real. I’ve seen the pfayohiqusi do spectacular things, but special permission is needed to use it.”

“What is pfayohiqusi?

“Oh, pfayohiqusi just means ‘apparatus of the Gods’. It’s just another one of those vague words that doesn’t really tell you anything. Utcoozhoo throws these words at me, but I haven’t yet comprehended what it really means.”

“Well, anyway, we now can go back to the cave if we want to, but we don’t have to right away. Right?”

“It does seem urgent and I think Utcoozhoo needs me.”

“Yeah, but, I have to get information for him, and you could do things from here.”

“Well, the sacred quarters has certain equipment that I need and…”

“Never mind all that. Just stay because…”

Leave a Reply

