I was given a new title “Fevepo”. It means ‘Your majesty High Priestess who is all powerful,’ or something. They don’t explain things very well, or I don’t catch on very easily. I think I’m in big trouble

ENTRY 85

Yenkoi seems like a trustworthy Gavicte. I think that if Utcoozhoo recommended him, he must be reliable, but maybe not. I’m not exactly sure what’s going on, and maybe Utcoozhoo was forced by the Council to appoint their favorite. On the other hand, he does seem meticulous in the way he lays out all the caveats and options.

Yenkoi does pay attention to every detail with his penetrating brown eagle eyes. His deep voice resonates with careful enunciation and I imagine that his aquiline nose will vacuum in the scent of trouble, or sniff unkindly at the vulgar, he, standing tall and grandly thin, but all seems heavy on his officious bushy brow.

Yenkoi had said, “Fevepo Zawmb’yee, I am required to inform you that…”

“Excuse me for interrupting,” I said, “but what does ‘Fevepo’ mean?”

“Um, well… I see that your Mieta has a lot of work to do. Let me put it this way: it is a title or term of respect which means roughly, ‘Your majesty High Priestess who is all powerful.’ ”

“Oh, that’s scary. Maybe you could call me chicky babe…” I thought poor old Yenkoi was going to have a heart attack the way he stepped back and seemed to lose his balance, so I added, “I’m just joking — I’ll work with my Mieta to learn all these terms. Sorry, please continue Gavicte Yenkoi.” I did a little Royal nod.

“Yes, thank you. Fevepo Zawmb’yee, I am required to inform you that I will be acting in your name to exercise all executive powers of state while you study the Ofuye and legal documents. However, although it is generally not recommended, you have the power and right to overrule or rescind any order I have issued in your name, and may if you deem it necessary, issue an order or decree of your own which will be followed and obeyed by all subjects of the realm. You may write and promulgate laws to enforce your decrees as you deem necessary.”

“Kievifkwa!”

“Don’t worry. Your Mieta will instruct and inform you on the state of affairs, and I will handle everything until you are ready…”

Leave a Reply

