WordDreams...

Worldbuilding (which I’ve also seen written as ‘world-building’ and ‘world building’) is the process of creating an alternate world that is believable, agile to the needs of the plot and characters, and authentic. It is present in most fiction but takes pride of place in fantasy and sci-fi.

Through my Indie reading, I’ve discovered several premiere worldbuilders. Diana Peach, the author of The Rose Shield Trilogy and more, comes to mind, as does Michael Smart, author of Davidia’s Seed. These two do such a wonderful job of building their alternate universes that I feel like I’m there, living under its cultural rules. Michael agreed to discuss we me how he goes about his worldbuilding. The bolded questions are mine. What follows is Michael’s answer:

Michael agreed to discuss we me how he goes about his worldbuilding. The bolded questions are mine. What follows is Michael’s answer:

View original post 899 more words

Leave a Reply

